University College Plymouth St Mark & St John

Useful web sites for Public Relations

 

Associations

Advertising Association

Advertising Standards Authority

European Association of Public Relations Students

Institute of Public Relations (UK)

International Association of Business Communicators

International Institute of Communications

International Public Relations Association

Public Relations Society of America

Gateways

About.com - Public Relations  A resource guide for public relations resources on the Internet, links are well-annotated, and divided into categories, such as articles, case studies, research, marketing, jobs, media directories, investor relations, and Internet. The site is somewhat US biased, but there are still many good resources.

BUBL Information Service  Catalogue of selected internet resources covering all academic subject areas such as advertising and journalism. Try searching in the:subject menu, A-Z menu or the Dewey menu 659.

Intute:  Social Sciences  Previously known as SOSIG. Contains useful links to National and International resources in the social sciences. Also hosts online tutorials to get you started on the web, try the Internet for Business Studies.

Online Public Relations  Online Public Relations is dedicated to helping you deliver better, faster and less-expensive online PR.

General

Biz/ed  Biz/ed is a unique business and economics service for students, teachers and lecturers.

British Library Newspaper Library  British Library Newspaper Library, the national archive collections in the United Kingdom of British and overseas newspapers. They are the only large, integrated national newspaper service in the world, combining facilities for the collection, preservation, and use of newspapers all on one site.

Marketing UK  Attempts to cover the key areas of marketing activity. Links are provided to reference resources available on the web including; books, magazines, websites, contact and customer databases, database lists, PR, marketing definitions and strategy. A PowerPoint based training package is available to download for local use. The site also includes a discussion forum for marketing professionals and a free marketing jobs section. Registered users of the site can receive regular updates and a newsletter.

MORI (Market & Opinion Research International)  Research at the heart of business and public life.

NUA Surveys  A resource for internet trends and statistics.

Open University  Free resource material from the Open University openlearn website

PR Museum  A site that includes biographies of famous PR personnel and an opportunity to learn about how ideas are developed.

PR Watch  Investigative reporting on the public relations industry, helping to recognize manipulative and misleading PR practices.

PR Web  Free online press release distribution.

Press Release Writing  Advice on ensuring newsworthiness and sticking to the facts.

Radio Advertising Bureau

Tarsus  Internet solutions for business problems. A highly successful provider of business media such as exhibitions, publishing, conferences, and Internet sites

Test Research  Founded in 1995 Test Research Partners are specialists in advertising, PR and other communications research.

For an eLearning tutorial that teaches critical evaluation of information found on the Internet then try the Internet Detective website. The website also includes sections on copyright matters, plagiarism and citation/referencing.

 

back

Comment:

Please enter any observations or comments that you have on the content on this webpage.