Useful web sites for Philosophy
Associations
American Philosophical Association
American Philosophical Society
British Society for Ethical Theory
International Society for Environmental Ethics
Society for Philosophical Inquiry
Gateways
The British Academy Portal: Philosophy Directory of on line resources in the humanities and social sciences. Designed as an entry point to available resources for those working in higher education and research.
BUBL Information Service Catalogue of selected internet resources covering all academic subject areas. Try searching in the subject menu, A-Z menu or the Dewey menu 900,s.
Intute: Arts and Humanities Previously known as Humbul. Resources are arranged by type and then alphabetically with some annotation. Also hosts online tutorials to get you started on the web, try the Internet for the Philosopher.
Intute: Social Sciences Previously known as SOSIG. Contains useful links to National and International resources in the social sciences.
Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy Wide range of access points to all areas of the Arts and Humanities, though its bias is to towards American sites.
Yahoo: Philosophy This site is a major gateway and is well worth a browse. Some of the key areas you will find are Ancient Greek philosophy, ethics and philosophy of religion.
General
Contemporary Continental Philosophy Collection of links on contemporary European philosophy and philosophers.
Guide to Philosophy on the Internet Comprehensive collection of philosophy resources
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Kant on the web An "organised and comprehensive listing" of resources on Kant.
Philosophers Yahoo directory of links to many philosophers and their works.
Philosophy and Theology Links to primary texts in the field of Greek and Medieval European philosophy and theology.
Plato and his Dialogues A collection of resources using a 'map' of Plato's dialogues as a starting point.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
For an eLearning tutorial that teaches critical evaluation of information found on the Internet then try the Internet Detective website. The website also includes sections on copyright matters, plagiarism and citation/referencing.