University College Plymouth St Mark & St John

Useful web sites for History

 

Associations & Organisations

The Historical Association

National Register of Archives

English Heritage

Institute of Historical Research

Gateways

Archives Hub  Provides a single point access to descriptions of archives held in UK universities and colleges. This user friendly, easy to search and gives full details of the archives listed from where they're held to their extent and notes about the history of the archive itself.

BUBL Information Service  Catalogue of selected internet resources covering all academic subject areas. Try searching in the subject menu, A-Z menu or the Dewey menu 900,s.

History Guide  Run by the State and University Library at Gottingen, Germany and contains varied resources with a mainly Anglo-American focus. Resources are listed with brief descriptions and metadata and can be found via a subject index or a resource type index. The search function is a little confusing, so primary use of the indexes is recommended.

Intute:  Arts and Humanities  Previously known as Humbal. Resources are arranged by type and then alphabetically with some annotation. Also hosts online tutorials to get you started on the web, try the Internet for Historians.

Intute:  Social Sciences  Previously known as SOSIG. Contains useful links to National and International resources in the social sciences.

Voice of the Shuttle  Wide range of access points to all areas of the Arts and Humanities, though its bias is to towards American sites.

Virtual Library  Based at the University of Kansas this site offers a number of sources, divided by material type, topic, epoch or country. You may be disappointed by the sparse nature of sources in some sections.

World History Compass  A free access site covering a huge range of historical topics. Resources are indexed by country and there are added indices for the Ancient World and specific subject areas such as Aviation and Medicine.

Yahoo - History  This site is a major gateway for many historical and related topics and is well worth a browse. Some of the key areas you will find are British History, American History, Maritime History and Military History.

General

Arts and Humanities Data Service (AHDS)  Collects, catalogues and encourages use of high quality data resources.

The Data Archive  More than seven thousand datasets relating to the period after 1945. Integrated with the History Data Service and shares a catalogue, BIRON locates and orders files on-line.

Econ Lit  Indexes articles, books, essays in collection etc published since 1969, including economic history.

English Heritage - ViewFinder  An online image resource for Englands History.

Eurodocs  Historical documents from Western Europe - selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations.

Histpop  A collection of British historical population reports with access to the complete reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.

The History Data Service  A new and developing service aiming to make accessible large deposits of original historical data.

Labour and Business History  A site listing organisations, institutions and other resources relating to these specific areas of history

Open University  Free resource material from the Open University openlearn website

Project Gutenberg  Alphabetical list of Gutenberg Literature.

Victorian Web  An online encyclopaedia about Victorian Britain with many links to other sites.

Discussion Lists

JISCmail  The national academic mailing list service.

Library Catalogues

COPAC  A joint on-line catalogue of several of the biggest research libraries in the UK including Oxford, Cambridge, Edinburgh and Glasgow.

British Library Catalogue  An opportunity to search the main catalogues of the British Library and the Document Supply Centre in Boston Spa.

Primary & Secondary Resources

Active History  Quizzes, interactive sources and worksheets.

History Learning Site  Numerous topics aimed at key stage 3 through to A level.

History on the Net  Historical information linked to the National Curriculum, offers a range of games and interactive activities with a history theme. Approved by the Association of teacher web site.

National Archives Learning Curve  An on-line teaching resource structured to tie in with the History National curriculum from key stages 2 to 5.

School History  Provides interactive quizzes, worksheets, resources and internet links, search by year group from primary to A-level.

Teachers Virtual School:  History  The history departments home page providing key stage resources, lesson plans and links to activities and on-line journals. Part of the Association of teachers web site.

Local History

Applause South West

Cornwall Records Office

Devon Communities History Pack

Devon History Society

Devon Library and Information Services - Local Studies Service

Devon Record Office

Sibmas International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions

For an eLearning tutorial that teaches critical evaluation of information found on the Internet then try the Internet Detective website. The website also includes sections on copyright matters, plagiarism and citation/referencing.

back

 

 

Comment:

Please enter any observations or comments that you have on the content on this webpage.